UMTAPO BOARD MEMBERS

MRS NONTSIKELELO BIKO

Community leader and health professional in the Eastern Cape. Board member of the Steve Biko Foundation and many other bodies and institutions.



DR TANKISO DIKIBO

Director of BOTTEK, community-based agricultural project in the Free State.



DR JAMES MARSH (chairperson)

Political activist and retired educationist. Was imprisoned on Robben Island for 5 years. Thereafter, spent many years in exile in Germany before returning to SA. Lectured at UCT and UWC. Resides in Cape Town



MS ASHA MOODLEY

Ex-teacher. Political and gender activist. Banned and house arrested for many years during the 70s' for activities under the Black Consciousness Movement. Retired from the Legal Resources Centre.



MR JAY REDDY

Longstanding, experienced Durban attorney. Serves on SAFA legal panel.



DR FARIDA PATEL

Deputy Principal at Centenary High School in Durban. Trained in PHARE by UMTAPO and started a Peace Club at her school. Volunteer at Life-line and previously part-time lecturer at Edgewood Teacher Training College.



MR KUTELANI SIGIDI

Health professional in Makhado, Limpopo. Trained as a community activist by UMTAPO.



MR DEENA SOLIAR

Founding member and Director of UMTAPO. Former Secretary General of the South African Association for Literacy and Adult Education and Assistant Director of the African Community Education Association.



MS LINDA YHUKUTWANA

Educationist. Former teacher at Dr Mandela High School in Western Cape. Linda was one of first educators trained in PHARE by UMTAPO and started a Peace Club at her school. Currently, lecturing at the Cape Town College.

